University of Toronto

Much of the group’s research is interdisciplinary and performed in collaboration with UofT colleagues at the Departments of Chemistry, Materials Science & Engineering, Physics, and Chemical Engineering.

At the Department of Chemistry collaborators in the areas of inorganic-polymer nanostructures, quantum dot mesostructures, and chemically powered nanomotors include:

  • Dr. Greg Scholes
  • Dr. Gilbert Walker
  • Dr. Mitchell Winnik
  • Dr. Raymond Kapral

At the Departments of Physics, Materials Science & Engineering, and Chemical Engineering, collaborators include:

  • Dr. Doug Perovic (Low-k Materials)
  • Dr. Charles Mims (Photocatalysis)
  • Dr. Nazir Kherani (Materials for Photovoltaics)
  • Dr. Zhenghong Lu (Organic Light-Emitting Diodes)
  • Dr. Sajeev John, and Dr. Henry van Driel (Photonic Bandgap Materials)
  • Dr. Peter Herman (Laser Photonics)
  • Dr. Stewart Aitchison (Non-Linear Optics)


Dr. Ozin is a fellow of the Institute for Advanced Research (CIFAR) and has strong interactions with CIFAR Nanoelectronics team members. These include Dr. Jeff Dahn at Dalhousie University on nanostructured lithium solid state battery materials and photonic crystal state-of-charge battery indicators, and Dr. Jeff Young at UBC on quantum dot photonic crystal cavities.


In the year 2000, Dr. Ozin conceived, organized and established an international collaborative teaching and research exchange program in materials chemistry and nanochemistry. This involves faculty, graduate students and post-doctoral fellows at a number of top-tier international universities and research centres:

  • University of Toronto
  • MIT (Dr. Dressselhaus)
  • UC Berkeley (Dr. Yablonovitch)
  • The Royal Institution of Great Britain (UK)
  • University College London (UK)
  • London Center for Nanotechnology (UK)
  • Bristol University (Dr. Parkin, Dr. Caruana, Dr. Manners)
  • Institute of Materials Science of Seville (Dr. Miguez)
  • Max Planck Institute for Colloid and Surface Chemistry (Dr. Antonietti)
  • University of Karlsruhe, Center for Functional Nanostructures (Dr. Wegener, Dr. von Freymann, Dr. Kappes, Dr. Fenske, Dr. Feldmann, Dr. Powell, Dr. Kubel)
  • University of Mainz (Dr. Tremel, Dr. Zentel)
  • LMU Munich (Dr. Bein, Dr. Braeuchle, Dr. Lotsche)
  • University of Bayreuth (Dr. Breu)
  • University of Augsburg (Dr. Lindner)
  • Ecole Polytechnique de Lausanne (Dr. Graetzel)
  • European Laboratory for Non-linear Spectroscopy (LENS)(Dr. Weismar)
  • Milan University (Dr. Tubino)


In 2006 Opalux, a Toronto based spin-out company was founded based on photonic crystal technology that emerged from Dr. Ozin’s research. Dr. Ozin is a co-founder and Chief Scientific Advisor for Opalux. Over the course of his career he has had many collaborative research projects with Canadian and US companies.


The group has created a large patent portfolio in the fields of low k microelectronic packaging materials, authentication and anti-counterfeiting materials, drug delivery, photonic bandgap, chromatography, laser and solar fuels materials.


Leave a Reply