The Supervisor: Geoffrey A. Ozin, CV and Award List, Teaching Philosophy
Lab Manager : Tamika Clarence

Postdocs/ Visiting Scientists :

  • Yang-Fan Xu: Ph.D 2018, Sun Yat-sen University
  • Camilo J. Viasus: Postdoctoral Fellow, BSc. and MSc. National University of Colombia. PhD. 2019, University of Ottawa.
  • Chengliang Mao: Postdoctoral Fellow, Ph.D 2020, Central China Normal University
  • Rui Song: Postdoctoral Fellow, Ph.D 2020, Xi’an Jiaotong University
  • Shufang Ji: Postdoctoral Fellow, Ph.D 2018, Tsinghua University
  • Abdelaziz Gouda: Postdoctoral Fellow, Abdelaziz received his Ph.D. in materials engineering from Ecole Polytechnique Montreal under the supervision of Prof. Clara Santato in July 2021. His research focus has been on sustainable electrochemical energy storage with hands-on experience on synthesizing, designing, developing and testing electrode materials for energy storage systems including supercapacitors, Li-ion batteries as well as expertise in fundamental electrochemical characterization using three-electrode cells. Strong research experience with inorganic and organic nanomaterials synthesis and functional properties characterization for solar energy conversion, sensors and organic electronic devices. Devoted to research advances in materials to create a sustainable world to live in. He joined Ozin’s group in August 2021 as a postdoc fellow with a research interest in photocatalytic dry reforming.

Graduate Students :

  • Guanshu Zhao: 2021 PhD Candidate, Harbin Institute of Technology, China, e-mail:
  • Laura Hoch: 2010 B.Sc. Pennsylvania State University, USA
  • Jonathan Moir: 2010 B.Sc. Queens University
  • Laura Reyes: 2011 B.Sc. York University
  • Abdinoor Jelle: 2011 B.Sc. University of Toronto
  • Yuchan Dong: 2014, B.Sc. Nankai University
  • Young Feng Li: 2014 B.Sc. University of Toronto
  • Annabelle Wong, 2013 B.Sc. University of British Columbia
  • Thomas Dingle: 2015 B.Sc. University of Toronto
  • Mireille Ghoussoub: 2014 B.A.Sc University of British Columbia, 2016 M.A.Sc. University of Toronto
  • Athan Tountas: 2015 M.Sc. University of Toronto
  • Meikun Xia: 2016 B.Sc. Nankai University
  • Abhinav Mohan: 2018 B.A.Sc University of Toronto
  • Undergraduate Students/Summer Students/Exchange Students:

    • Alan Gu: 2017 University of Toronto
    • Danning Xu: 2018 University of Toronto
    • Eva Puetz: B.Sc University of Mainz


      Trained a cadre of more than 300 top-rank students 50 of which have secured academic posts in universities around the world.

    • Graduate Students
      • Melanie Mastronardi, Ph. D. 2015, McKinsey and Company
      • Kenneth Chen, M. Sc. 2015
      • Johnny Huai, M.Sc. 2014
      • Jennifer Lofgreen, Ph. D. 2013
      • Jeffrey McDowell, Ph. D. 2013, PDF @ Univ. Toronto
      • Daniel Faulkner: Ph. D. 2012, McKinsey and Company
      • Jordan Thomson: 2012, Scientist @ GreenCentre Canada
      • Wendong Wang: 2011, PDF, Harvard University
      • Leonardo Da Silva Bonifacio, 2010, Scientist, Opalux Inc.
      • Jennifer I.L. Chen, 2009, Assistant Professor, York University
      • Tihana Mirkovitch, 2009, Instructor, University of Toronto
      • L. Cademartiri, 2008, Assistant Professor, Iowa State University
      • D. Maschke, 2008, Ph.D., University of Mainz
      • P. Oberle, 2008, Ph.D. University of Mainz
      • W. Whitnall, 2008
      • A. Esmanski, 2008
      • F. Fleischhaker, 2007, PDF, MIT, Cambridge, MA; Scientist, BASF, Germany
      • A. C. Arsenault, 2006, CTO and Founder, Opalux Inc.
      • U. Kamp, 2006, Scientist, Opalux Inc.
    • Postdocs and Visitors
    • Leo Diehl: Ph.D Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research
    • Ulrich Ulmer: Feodor Lynen Research Fellow, PhD 2016 Karlsruhe Institue of Technology
    • Navid Soheilnia: Research Associate PhD. 2007 University of Waterloo
    • Naoto Shirahata, Visiting Scientist, NIMS, Tsukuba,Japan
    • Peter Mirtchev: Ph. D. 2015 University of Toronto
    • Paul O’Brien, Ph.D 2011, University of Toronto
    • Wei Sun: 2011 B.Sc. Jilin University, China
    • Jia Jia: 2011, B.Sc. Peking University
    • Chenxi Qian, 2012 B.Sc. Nanjing University
    • Dongzhi Chen, Visiting Researcher, Wuhan Textile University, China
    • Miaomiao Ye, Visiting Faculty, Zhejiang University, China
    • Hong Wang: Ph.D 2013, Fudan University
    • Le He, Professor, Shanghai, China
    • Benoit Mahler, Scientist, Solarwell, Paris, France
    • Changlong Chen,  Professor, University of Jinan, China
    • Liwei Wang, Ph. D. Student, Nankai University, China
    • Veronika Hoepfner, Scientist @Bosch, Ulm, Germany
    • Mohamed Hmadeh, 2013, Associate Professor, American University of Beirut, Lebanon
    • Renato Silva, 2013, Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Brazil
    • Tom Kollek, 2013, M.Sc. Student, University of Konstanz, Germany
    • Engelbert Redel: 2012, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
    • Makoto Seino, 2011, Scientist, Kaneka Corporation, Japan
    • Eric Henderson 2011, Scientist, Opalux Inc.
    • Nils Born, Exchange student, University of Mainz, Germany
    • Min Guan: Exchange Student, Lanzhou University, China
    • Micha Polak, Visiting Professor, Ben-Gurion University, Israel
    • Gabriel Lozano: Visiting student, University of Seville, Spain
    • Zheng-Ming Wang: Visiting Scientist, Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
    • Nicole Zacharia, 2009, PDF, Professor, Texas A&M, Chemical Engineering.
    • Kun Hou, 2008, PDF, Ludwig Maximilians University, Munich, Germany
    • Leonardo Valadares, 2008, PhD., Brazil
    • Takashi Suezaki, 2008, Scientist, Kaneka Corporation, Japan
    • Bettina V. Lotsch, 2008, Professor, Ludwig Maximilians University, Munich, Germany

    For past alumni, contact Peter @

    Leave a Reply